Perspective

For years I held an image in my head of Martin Luther boldly striding up to the door of the Wittenburg Cathedral on the eve of all saint’s day, black cape swirling behind him, music crescendoing in the background and nailing his theses to the door as a challenge that said, in effect, “Hey Pope! There’s a storm coming! I’m about to start a reformation!”

The truth, however, is that Luther was a mid level monk, in a fairly insignificant small city, who thoughtfully and prayerfully wrote down 95 ideas and then submitted them for open debate, as was the practice of the time. An unknown friend of Luther’s translated the theses, and using the brand new technology of a printing press, spread it throughout Europe.

I posted them here to illustrate that they are roughly the length of a blog post.

It took him years to write it.

I write several posts a week – most of the time.

Sometimes I get these ideas that what I’m doing here is important and that this platform gives me the ability to write 95 sentences and change the world.

It doesn’t.

I’m a mama with a blog, three cute kids.and an amazing husband.

I am not Martin Luther.

 

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

4 responses to “Perspective

  • Sarah

    Plus, to put another angle on it…when he posted those, he didn’t have all his theological ducks in a row yet…a number of the theses rightly raise Protestant eyebrows! Luther wasn’t a very good “Lutheran” yet. 🙂 But God glorified Himself even in Luther’s weakness, and look what resulted!

  • Corinna Groom

    No, you are not Martin Luther and perhaps your platform will not change the world. However, your posts do provide me a frequent laugh, often a fresh perspective and even a more godly one at times. Not to mention that I learn things….important things. So, maybe God is using you to change the world. One sister at a time. 🙂 Thanks for all your great posts.

  • Lollie

    If you think you’re to small to be effective, you’ve never been in bed with a mosquito!

    • Coralie

      I don’t think I’m too small. Martin Luther wasn’t big or important. I was commenting on calling. I am not called to be a reformer or a leader of the church and I need to blog accordingly. 🙂

