I Don’t Really Know What This Taught Me Exactly

My sister does a lot of things herself, so when I told her I liked her hair cut, and asked who did it, I wasn’t at all surprised when she said that she did. Standing in her kitchen, we chatted about how she cut her hair and our frustration with paying for haircuts, and all the while my brain was saying “You could totally do that!”

I’ve already posted about my hair issues  and I am just entering the “hair falling out” stage of post pregnancy. My hair is out of control on my head and everywhere in my house. My kids are regularly pulling it out of their food and that’s just horrible. It’s on the floor. It’s in the bath.

Last Sunday evening I was at the end of my rope. My hair was hot on my neck, and messy and falling out all over the place. It didn’t matter how I brushed it or didn’t or anything, it just looked messy and out of control. The snickerdoodle was the last member of the family to fall asleep that evening, and after tucking her into her crib for the evening I went to brush my teeth etc. before bed and caught sight of my hair on my pants and the floor and thought, “If Melissa can cut her own hair, surely I can just tidy mine up a little.”

I grabbed my hair scissors and started to trim the ends a little. It was uneven, so I trimmed a little more. Then a little more. Then I evened from the other direction. Then I tried a different approach. I went on working from different directions until I looked down at the counter and saw this:

My hair - not a small woodland creature.

Oh dear.

Two problems here: 1. Did I mention everyone in the house was asleep? This was going to come as quite a shock to my dear husband who prefers my hair a little longer.  2. It was still uneven but now the only way to make it even would be for someone else to make it SHORTER!

So I stopped.

The next morning, after Jonathan looked at me in confusion and asked if I can gone to quick clips in my pajamas, I trimmed up a few loose ends and decided to live with it.

Still uneven, but now it sort of looks like I did it on purpose.

So I don’t really know what I’ve learned here. I did manage to cut my hair, but it doesn’t resemble anything I set out to create. I guess time will tell.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

8 responses to “I Don’t Really Know What This Taught Me Exactly

  • melissa

    I think you look cute! It looks like mine, only cuter. I guess we’ll call it the “Hate-paying-for-haircuts-we-don’t-like-so-we’ll-hack-till-we-look-alike hairdo.

    Has a nice ring to it, doncha think?

    p.s. really like the sultry/vogue pout you have going on in that pic.

  • Jawan

    You. CRACK. me. UP! I love it!

  • keith groom

    Corinna does it often & says its “cute”.

  • Lollie

    You are so brave!! Bravo! You did a great job. I attempted to cut Josh’s hair once, it didn’t go so well, he was laughing and crying and laughing then he shaved his bald. So I’m not ever going to try might, I don’t think I’d look as good as him, bald:)

  • Becky

    I think you look so hip.
    (Jeremy made me read this before leaving for church so I wouldn’t have a visible reaction when I saw you 🙂 )

  • Carole

    you ARE brave, but i think you did a good job

  • Carole

    Hey! your gandma and grandpa used to say that there was only a couple of weeks between a good hair cut and a bad one anyhow. And we have a woman who appears on CBC TV now and then that has hair a LOT worse than the photo of you and I am sure she pays good money for it. I think she should sue her hair dresser, but yours looks great in comparison.

    Dad (on your mom’s computer)

  • I Hope Anonymous Reads My Blog « Life More Abundantly

    […] small children; but I couldn’t help assuming this particular gift may have been sparked by a certain experiment in self grooming a few weeks […]

