So Much More

I think most seminarians probably goes through this experience. His family is in a church, happily serving and he gets asked to do more, and teach more. People begin asking him about things in the bible, and seeking his council, and then they begin to say, “You should really go to seminary.” Pretty soon he’s the guy who is going to be in seminary, and then he’s the guy being sent to seminary.

Then he gets to seminary: a place filled with guys interested in teaching and studying the word; a place filled with people gifted in some of the same things he is. He’s one of eighteen seminary students at church and suddenly he’s not such a unique commodity; he’s a dime a dozen.

Please understand, I’m not talking about Jonathan’s feelings here. I’m talking about mine. There are days that I just want to jump into a conversation – or onto a table – and yell, “My husband is SO MUCH MORE than Chick-Fil-A. He’s a talented teacher, preacher and leader. He has wisdom that is growing every day and he’s  also REALLY FUNNY if you give him a chance. He loves people and wants to see them love the gospel and be changed by it. He isn’t called to sell chicken for the rest of his life.”

I don’t actually do that. I just feel like doing it.

One of the blessings of our church is that they want to give seminary students opportunities. Jonathan and our neighbor David are co-teaching Sunday School with one of the seminary professors, and co-leading a small group on Sunday nights and Jonathan is David’s assistant on Wednesday night in the 3rd and 4th grade Kids Club group. Last night, David was doing a devotional in the midweek service, so I got to help Jonathan in Kid’s Club.

Watching him relate to 13 third and fourth graders brought me back to all the years we worked together, first in youth ministry for a year, then in children’s ministry for two years, then back to youth ministry for five and a half, then, after an eighteen month break, teaching for four years. It was fun, and I saw Jonathan doing the things for which God built him.

I was reminded that I don’t have to tell anyone that my husband is so much more than Chick-Fil-A. God knows. The same God who has created all of these other men to serve the body of Christ and created places in which they are to serve, he has done the same for my husband.

I’m also reminded of something our friend Darrin said back in January: No one’s called to seminary. They’re call to ministry, and seminary is the tool to get there. God has ordained that Jonathan’s seminary training would be so much more than classes and books and reading. He’s appointed Chick-Fil-A to be a part of Jonathan’s preparation for ministry. He might not be called to it forever, but he’s called to it now.

The bottom line is this: it’s all so much more

So much more than I can see, so much more than I can imagine. To quote the song, it’s “more awesome than I know.”

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

2 responses to “So Much More

  • suzanne

    Isn’t it wonderful to be married to a man about whom you just want to stand up and sing his praises because he won’t do it for himself (and because he’s pretty freakin’ awesome). And in reality, he wouldn’t want you to do it either. Which makes you want to do it all the more. I mean, I know this is true of me and the way you talk about Jonathan here and elsewhere makes me think it’s true of you, too 🙂

  • Carole

    I want to sing his praises too…he is a great son in law, and for the moment he sells chicken really well as well as a trillion other things he manages to fit into his life….GO JONATHAN!!!!!!

