The Mackerdoodle on Pedestrians

Friday is a light day for Jonathan, so we try to get out as a family for a few hours. This week was the debut of the new baby elephant at our big free zoo, and as we hadn’t been in a while we thought we’d check it out. As we were walking from our car toward the zoo entrance, we passed a sign. This is a guaranteed stop with the mackerdoodle these days as she either “reads” the sign to us (ie. pronounces the first letter correctly and makes up the rest) or asks what it says. This time she asked.

“This is a big word, but it says Puh Puh Ped-es-tree-an. Pedestrian use only.” I answered, showing her the letters as I sounded them out.

“What does that word mean?”

“It means if you are using your feet, you may take that trail, but if you are in a car or on a scooter or in a vamoosh you can’t use it.”

At this, she puts her hands on her hips and says, “So let me get this straight. (Jonathan and I were suddenly very intently NOT looking at each other) If I was training for a bike race, I couldn’t use that trail?”

“That’s right.” I said.

“Glad we got that straight.” said Jonathan.

“Oh yah.” said the mackerdoodle, resuming her trot toward the zoo. “That could have been confusing.”

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

4 responses to “The Mackerdoodle on Pedestrians

