in Which I Learn a Lesson I Will Likely Ignore

I tried something new this week. I made a list of things I wanted to accomplish each day, and when I checked everything off my list, I would reward myself with some blogging and pinterest time.

You may have noticed I didn’t blog all week.

Yeah.

My list for today isn’t finished either.

I am wondering if my list was too ambitious, or if I really, honestly, don’t have time for blogging in my life. I’ve been blogging for five years, and the idea of not blogging anymore just makes me sad, so I’m putting it on my list of things to do each week, but it’s one of many things, and there will be more weeks like this one where the other things push blogging to the bottom of the pile. I’ve got to realize that as much as I would like to think of myself as a writer or a blogger, I’m really a stay at home mom and wife of a very busy seminarian. That’s my calling. That’s my priority. This is just a hobby.

 

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

5 responses to “in Which I Learn a Lesson I Will Likely Ignore

  • Lollie

    I’ve had seasons where on my list of things to do was one thing. I was happy if I accomplished one thing. Well one thing other than feeding children and caring for them. Like cleaning the kitchen or cleaning a bathroom or doing a load of laundry:)

  • Jawan

    I soooooooooooo get that.

  • suzanne

    Oh, I understand every word of that. And I was convicted by this blog post (gee, THANKS). You shouldn’t give it up completely because your blog has really been a blessing to me on several occasions. At least your hobby is honorable! I don’t think my current time-sucker of watching Desperate Housewives on Netflix is nearly so valuable!

    P.S. There are a lot of words in the above paragraph that may not either exist or work in context. It’s 11:27pm, I’m waiting for my husband so we can go to bed, I’ve got a not-quite-three-week-old and my brain is NOT FUNCTIONING. It took me a looooooong time to come up with some of the simple words that I did use confidently.

  • melissa

    I think it’s running in the family. Last night I was up until 2:45 – even for me that’s pushing it. And honestly, I worked all day – and I wasn’t really finished when I went to bed. What to get rid of…that’s the question. I realised this morning at 6:03 when Elijah puked all over his bed that sleep probably shouldn’t be the thing I drop….

    Sigh. Yawn.

    Zzzzzzzzzzz.

