A Doodle Update

Well, the doodles have been up to a little bit of everything, and as my friend Suzanne requested that I take a break from writing posts that convict her I thought now was a great time to brag on my adorable children.

CHEESEDOODLE:

While I would normally begin in chronological order, our cheesedoodle news is pretty cool. On Monday we had a very successful speech assessment for him. They put him through a series of physical and mental tests and evaluations which he really quite enjoyed. His hearing is fine. On all tests of language and comprehension he is testing at the level of a three and a half year old (he’s two for those who have lost track) so apart from his total lack of vocabulary he’s way ahead.

He’ll be seeing the speech therapist once a week to work on the physical mechanics of speech. She’ll be playing games with him to help his mouth form the shapes of sounds and make the connection between what he seems to be hearing in his head and what he isn’t doing with his mouth. We are very excited to have a game plan and to know that what we perceived as intelligence and comprehension wasn’t just wishful thinking on our part or an attempt to compensate for his lack of vocabulary.

Cheesedoodle requisite funny story: I am trying to introduce the cheesedoodle to the concept of potty training. After an initial enthusiasm he has figured out that this means a disruption in his normal play time and has become resistant to the concept. As many of the potty training books recommend using positive peer pressure, I gave him the following “pep talk” while changing a diaper a week or so ago:

Me:”Zac and Elijah use the potty. Caleb and Austin and Nathan and Isaac use the potty. Right? Those big boys all use the potty, right?”

He looked me right in the eye and nodded clearly.

“So don’t you want to be a big boy like those big boys?”

He put his finger on his lips, and tapped them for a moment, as if thinking, then looked at me and said, “Uh-uh” while shaking his head.

SNICKERDOODLE:

Our snickerdoodle is almost 6 months old, which is stunning to me. The first year goes faster for each consecutive child. I can only assume at child six or seven they begin walking at three days old. (Maybe THAT’S how those super huge families do it.)

Regardless, she’s a delight. She’s working very hard to sit up after eating, and can generally get herself into a 3/4 crunch unassisted. She is also working to sit alone, and can sit for short periods on a lap, or a bed, or somewhere that molds under her bottom. She has two bottom teeth, but despite more than a month of anxious chewing and copious amounts of drool, no other teeth have arrived. I am fairly relieved by that, being her sole source of sustenance at the moment. She has had a few helpings of sweet potato and a little bit of oatmeal cereal, but her tongue thrust response is still so strong, she’s clearly not ready for more than the odd test tastes. I’m okay with that too.

MACKERDOODLE:

Our oldest doodle continues to have us in stitches most moments of the day. She has discovered an anime series on Netflix called “Eon Kid” and walks around the house singing the theme song, but in true makerdoodle fashion she has declared herself to be Eon Girl whose primary super power is “the power to SPARKLE!” She is also in a lining things up phase. I often walk into a room to find my little ponies, or fisher price animals, or any number of things, lined up neatly across the floor, as waiting expectantly for something.

Her most notable achievement at the moment, however, is in the area of growth. Around the time the snickerdoodle was born the mackerdoodle’s 3T pants got to that slightly embarrassing too short length. You know the one. They were all riding high on her ankles, but not high enough to look like crops. I put them in the “too small” box and set aside the 4Ts for when the cooler weather would return. Three weeks ago I pulled out said 4Ts and they were riding high on her ankles! She’s completely skipped size 4 and gone on to size 5 (inconveniently, the same size her youngest cousin is also wearing.) but thanks to some hand me downs from other friends and a great friend who happened to find a whole batch of girls size 5 jeans at Goodwill for a dollar a piece, she’s all set for the winter. It’s just another reminder that this baby of mine isn’t a baby anymore.

Mackerdoodle requisite funny story: There are so many from which to choose but the one that comes to mind right now is her reaction when we arrived home from the cheesedoodle’s speech evaluation. She put one hand on her hip and said, “So? Does he have words yet?”

So there you have it. doodle cuteness. Maybe I can convict Suzanne tomorrow.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

2 responses to “A Doodle Update

  • suzanne

    That’s great! Made me smile! Yesterday was a whole day of conviction (not from anything outside, just from it being a rough day and I came face-to-face with the fact that I cannot do this parenting thing in my own strength), so I’m glad for the mental break today. But don’t let me get lazy!

  • Donna Long

    An odd comment I know because it is ancient history, but try reversing time. My son and oldest was potty trained before his baby sister arrived. He was 23 months when she arrived. He decided he diapers again. I said no problem. I had him get me a diaper for him and one for the baby and lay “still” until I finished both. He lasted maybe two weeks. He realized the diaper changing was cutting into his playtime way more than a quick trip to the potty.

