What Have I Gotten Myself Into?

Have you ever agreed to do something that initially seemed easy or at least not challenging, but as the something approached were suddenly filled with a sudden sense of “what was I thinking? I can’t do this!”

This week is one of those for me.

Our church is hosting the Children of the World Children’s Choir this week and we agreed to host two children. It really is a pretty low commitment deal. They’ll sleep here three nights. I have to feed them two dinners and pack them one lunch. I thought, “Really, how hard can that be? Sure, we can do that.”

But today I was doing my weekly grocery shopping and had a sudden moment of terror! I’m going to be housing and feeding six year old orphan boys from another continent! What if I cook them something that is the cultural equivalent of offering my own children haggis or blood pudding? (Sorry, those are the nastiest things I could think of). What if they can’t handle our noisy family of small children?

It’s going to be fine. I know it is. But here I am on the eve of their arrival suddenly wondering what I have gotten myself into! I’ll have to keep you all posted.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

One response to “What Have I Gotten Myself Into?

