Invasion by Jon S. Lewis – a review

    Invasion by Jon S. Lewis is a young adult sci-fi/fantasy book published by Thomas Nelson.

After the sudden death of his parents, Colt McAlister moves to Arizona to live with his grandfather. He soon discovers that the world he thought only existed in comic books is a reality, and he is drawn into the battle to save earth – the battle that had killed his parents.

My love of sci-fi/fantasy is well documented here on the blog, so I was pleased to oblige when Thomas Nelson asked me to read Invasion and post a review on it. Written for the pre and early teen reader, the book is an easy read, with a lot of action, invented alien creatures and flying motorcycles. The main characters are moral, well adjusted teens who seem to like their parents and siblings, and obey their own curfews, unless being detained by robots. In other words, this is an angst free young adult book and that alone seems to me to be worth the cover price.

I was left with the feeling that this book would actually have worked better as a graphic novel than it did as a novel. The author was clearly attempting to describe a series of action events he could see in his head, but the simple descriptions lacked the power that true illustrations would have provided, especially in the final battle sequence. My biggest issue with the novel, however, is the first chapter. If I had started reading at chapter 2 this would have had interesting twists and suspense,  but Lewis lays out everything out in the first chapter. The aliens, the technology, the heroes, the villains, are all laid bare before the story even begins.

That being said, I would still recommend the book to the 10-12 year old crowd more concerned with cool and super than with suspense.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

Comments are disabled.

