From the Mouths of PreSchoolers

This week has been a week of total chaos for me. I feel like I have been in constant movement while simultaneously getting nothing done, or – more frustratingly – getting several things partially done but nothing ever finished.

One evening around bath time I walked into our bathroom. At the moment this is like walking an obstacle course. The bathroom itself is small and narrow and in said narrow space we have: two stools so my standing kids can brush their teeth and wash their hands, a box of diapers and a box of pull ups – both of which mysteriously migrate from under the counter to the middle of the floor – a baby bath, and a potty chair to enable the cheesedoodle to potty train without denying other family members their own much needed toilet turns. At any given time someone’s underthings are in the mix too.

So I approached this gauntlet distracted and at full speed with the mackerdoodle tailgating me and peppering me with questions and comments. I misjudged the height of the potty seat back trying to step over it and caught it with the tip of my shoe sending it flying as I planted my foot firmly into one of the migrating diaper boxes. I sat down on the edge of the tub and muttered, “This apartment is TOO SMALL,” as I surveyed the cluttered scene.

As soon as I said it, the mackerdoodle turned and looked me in the eye with concern.

“Why would you say that? This partament is perftict!” She said. “It has rooms and it even has a basement and we have a toilet and a sink and we can get clean water without walking to a well!”

All those lessons on the developing world designed to teach her thankfulness were leveled back at me with child-like forthrightness and absolute truth. I was treating the very abundance of God’s provision as a burden and a suffering and He used my daughter to show it to me.

My neighbor Becky had a similar experience this week and blogged about it too. I’m encouraged to not be the only one. 🙂

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

3 responses to “From the Mouths of PreSchoolers

  • suzanne

    Love it, love it, love it. There are so many ways that parenting is sanctifying, but what strikes me at the core the most is when my children call me to repentance without knowing it (ok, sometimes they do know it). And I *love* it when it’s clear they’ve been paying attention in church. Isaac always asking to pray for Pakistan (and he gives specific reasons why) and Nathan wanting to talk about adoption….it’s humbling.

  • Cynthia Owens

    Wow! Excellent reminder. It’s amazing what truth children gather from us that we don’t even realize is being shared.

  • keith groom

    Hey, you mean you have taught her recently (or she has a good memory) about the developing world having to have wells. I feel guilty, as i don’t think our children have the appreciation the Mackerdoodle does, though our children do teach me other things & i do hope the Lord gives me humility to be taught more Biblical life lessons from them.

    God bless & thank you for sharing those life lessons,
    Keith

