A Memory

Two weeks ago Jonathan mentioned casually that his Chick-Fil-A was going to be having a Princess Night promotion on a Tuesday evening. He mentioned it in the same way one might say, “Aldi is having a sale on green beans;” as if there isn’t a little girl who lives in our house and pretends to be a princess at least four times EVERY SINGLE DAY. I reminded him that because of our bible study transportation arrangement, I have the van on Tuesdays, and suddenly it was a thing. We were going to Daddy’s Chick-Fil-A for Princess Night.

Two facts you need to know here:

1. The mackerdoodle was given a beautiful handmade princess dress by her aunty Melissa this August and she wore it every day from the time it came out of quarantine until November 1st.

2. On November 1st I was at WalMart because the candy is 50% off, so we always go get some. In the carts filled with bags of snack sized everythings (and marshmallow yodas. What was that about?) was a single, partially opened box containing a size 6 Snow White costume. Before I could bury it under the bags of candy corn and smarties rolls, the mackerdoodle grabbed it and asked if we could buy it. Knowing that even at 50% off Disney costumes are usually out of our budget I told her we would only get it if I could find a price scanner and if it was priced below $4. It was $3.48 and the mackerdoodle has worn it every day since November 1st.

Okay, so the aforementioned Princess night was moved from Tuesday to Thursday because of storms, meaning it was moved from a day with a high of 70 degrees to a day with a “high” of 48. Up to that day the mackerdoodle had been telling me that she was going to be dressed up in her Snow White dress for Princess Day at Daddy’s Chick-Fil-A. I was disappointed, because really the dress my sister made is beautiful, and the other is cheap polyester. At Jonathan’s urging I let it go and let the mackerdoodle have  her preference.

Thursday afternoon I stepped outside to empty my recycling, and the mackerdoodle followed me onto the front porch talking about Princess Night at Daddy’s Chick-Fil-A. I was out of ear shot for a few minutes as I made my recycling deposit and when I got close enough to hear her clearly, she said, (and I quote):

“OK. Here’ s the plan. I’m going to wear my warm clothes to Daddy’s Chick-Fil-A and then get into my Snow White dress.”

I had to nix that. I was going to a themed event in a fast food restaurant with three children by myself. There was going to be no changing of the clothes on site and I explained that as gently and firmly as I could. She looked at me for a few moments, deep in thought, and then said:

“OK. Here’ s the plan. I’m going to wear the beautiful warm dress Aunty Melissa made me. And tights. And can I wear my church shoes?”

Um yes, yes and yes.

As soon as the decision was made, the cheesedoodle went trotting into the toy room, and came back with his cape from Aunty Melissa.

She in her Princess dress and he in his cape . . .

There was a 45 minute wait for face painting, but the look of delight on their faces when they saw the finished work was almost worth it. I kept trying to convince the cheesedoodle to go pirate (with the cape. I thought it would work) but he isn’t an easily persuaded kid.  Spiderman it was.

faces painted, princess tiara acquired, ready to head home from the BEST DAY EVER

When we got home, the mackerdoodle thanked God for “my warm dress, my tiara, my beautiful butterfly face painting, and the BEST DAY EVER. Amen.”

Amen

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

4 responses to “A Memory

  • Melissa

    AHHHHHH! Made me weepy. Would have loved to have been there with my princesses, too! Glad the outfits have been used – that and those smiles are enough to make ME smile for the rest of the day!

    Love you all!

  • Melissa

    Oh. Um, that was AWWWWWWWW. I was not running away, terrified, at your post.

    It’s been a long morning.

  • Jonathan

    Spider-man it was because Spider-man is one of the coolest superheros!
    Our son just knows great superheros!

  • Carole

    pleased it was such a success…just LOVED the face painting,,was it worth the wait????

