A Beautiful Picture of the Covenant Community.

This evening if you wander past my apartment  and hear the sounds of rustling around, don’t be alarmed. I’m just unpacking my crochet supplies. I haven’t crocheted since moving to St. Louis. I’ve been too busy doing important things like growing an entire human from scratch and discovering pinterest. (*cough*) But our Georgia church is doing a crochet for orphans project and I want to be a part of it.

Here’s what they are doing: They are collecting granny squares and displaying them around the city. Someone picks a square and “buys” it for $5 which goes into the church adoption assistance fund. The granny square is then set aside with other “bought” squares and crocheted into a blanket which will be given to the adopted child when he/she is brought home. I love it! The funds help families from within the church to adopt either locally or internationally, and the squares become a sign to a newly adopted child that he/she is coming not only into a legal family, but into a covenant community.

Why would a relatively small church congregation need something like an adoption fund? Because they understand that adoption is one of the most beautiful pictures of the gospel that the Lord has given us, and they want to be a part of it. They understand that it is a direct command from God (to look after widows and orphans in their distress) and they understand that adoption should belong to the entire community, even the ones who can’t open their homes to an orphan.

So I’m going to crochet squares in Missouri which will be sponsored in Georgia for children any where in the world. If that isn’t a picture of the covenant community of God, I don’t know what is.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

Comments are disabled.

