All in All It’s a Pretty Great Job

Being a stay at home mama can be exhausting some times. The snickerdoodle continues in her sleep dysfunction. The cheesedoodle continues in his speech delay and potty refusal. The mackerdoodle is my oldest, and thereby has the unfortunate roll of blazing trail for her siblings every where she grows. So there are struggles, but this week has been a pretty good one in the parenting department, and I thought I would share the highlights.

Monday I was giving the cheesedoodle his daily potty pep talk. Are you a big boy? Do big boys wear diapers? Don’t you want to wear underwear and keep it dry like a big boy? When I got to that last question, he put his hands on my cheeks and looked into my eyes and said, very clearly, “No no. DyePo.” Now I could put that in the loss column for potty training, but I’m putting it down as a win in speech development. I sighed and said, “When are you going to learn to use the potty?” He held up three fingers, and smiled happily. I guess I’ve only got 4 more months.

Monday at lunch Jonathan was reading the bible, as is his habit when we have a family meal together, and he asked the mackerdoodle, “Do you have any questions?” She looked up at him and asked, “What happens to the hell people? Do they ever get to go to the city with no sin where Jesus is the King?” We are amazed at her mind. Jonathan explained that Hell, like Heaven, is eternal and they had a long discussion about all sin deserving eternal punishment and because we are all sinners, we deserve that too. She has often acknowledged her sin and has had an understanding to some degree of sin’s affects in the world, but this was the first time that the Lord began to open her eyes to sin as an act of treason against God. With both the mackerdoodle and Jonathan in tears, she asked more and more questions and Jonathan responded with scripture, “anyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.” “If you confess with your mouth Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.” “If we confess our sins he is faithful and just to forgive our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” They prayed together and Jonathan left for class, and then work and the mackerdoodle didn’t mention it again; but at bedtime her usual rote prayer, “Thank you for mommy and daddy has a good shift and please forgive my sins and be the king of my life,” was replaced with this: “Dear Jesus. Thank you that when we know in our hearts you are the true God, you have saved us from our sins. Amen”

The weather has been BEAUTIFUL here lately, and one day this week I was putting the snickerdoodle down for a nap and told the older doodles they could play on the back deck while I was doing it. They asked if they could put out some bird seed for the birds, and I gave them permission to do so. As I was coming toward the kitchen, one sleeping baby later, the mackerdoodle said, “Mama? We’ve put out a lot of bird seed. We didn’t want the birds to be hungry.” based on the amount of birdseed I know was in the bag before I went to put the baby down, I would guesstimate they had put about four pounds of seed on the porch, but they had spread it evenly across each board in the deck. “We wanted all the birds to have room to eat,” was the mackerdoodle’s response.

Wednesday is a bit of a crazy day at our house, and I was trying to get dinner into the crockpot so we would have supper ready for our mad dash home from ballet before heading back out to midweek activities at church. I became vaguely aware in mid bustle that the two older doodles were pretty busily doing something in the kitchen. About to snap at them to stop messing with things, I caught my tongue as I realized they were unloading the dishwasher. They were doing it together, happily, and anything that went where they couldn’t reach was being placed neatly on the table. They were genuinely helping. Thursday saw a reprise of that when I arrived home from grocery shopping to a very hungry and tired snickerdoodle. As I was spooning pureed pear into the baby’s desperate mouth, mac n’ cheese put away the groceries for me, including carrying several frozen items downstairs to the chest freezer and putting them away. When the snickerdoodle could be left with her avocado pieces (a big snickerdoodle favorite), all I had left to do was put two gallons of milk into the fridge and a few large pieces of meat into the freezer. They had done almost all of it, and done it cheerfully, together.

So I may be tired and there maybe giant smears of avocado on my pants, and cheesedoodle muddy hand prints on my jacket, walls and mirrors, but I’ve got to say, this week I’m feeling like I’ve got a pretty great job.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

2 responses to “All in All It’s a Pretty Great Job

  • suzanne

    Mac ‘n’ cheese! I love it!

  • kitty

    I loved this post more many, many reasons. Please let us watch your kids for you so:
    1. you two can go for a long walk or go get coffee
    2. they can teach my kids how to unload the dishwasher and put away the groceries without being asked.

    And I’ve told you none of my kids has been potty trained before the age of three, right? The Boy was the earliest at 3 years, 1 month. They’re all sort of normal – at least in our little corner of the universe. Hang in there. Just don’t let anyone tell you not to worry because “they won’t go to kindergarten in diapers”. I hate that.

