The Hope of the Written Page

Today I was in my van all by myself. It was quiet and a little strange, so I turned on the radio and after some unsuccessful button pushing, came across Unwritten by Natasha Bedingfield. It’s a great song, and I sang it with gusto as I drove my white minivan down the interstate.The chorus says:

Feel the rain on your skin No one else can feel it for you Only you can let it in
No one else, no one else Can speak the words on your lips
Drench yourself in words unspoken Live your life with arms wide open
Today is where your book begins The rest is still unwritten.*
I stopped, mid groove, and pondered that last line.
While I still love the song, I realized that there is so much more hope and freedom in waking up every morning knowing that the book of my life has already been written. There is no writer’s block in real life. There is no blazing trails and hoping I’m heading in the right direction. I can throw my arms open wide and enjoy the feel of the rain on my skin, or the sand in my toes, or my children’s fingers in my hair, because I don’t have to write the page. I can thank the One who went before me and wrote in the rain or the sand or the sticky fingers before the foundations of the world.
About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

2 responses to “The Hope of the Written Page

  • Peggy

    I’m with you on that. When life is “grand” there is a great feeling of the “unwritten” potential, but when life is hard and I’m facing realities (which is most of the time), I can only take refuge in the fact that God is in control and has already written a story in which I am perfected in Him and He gets all the glory.

  • Lollie

    Not only that, but we can know that He is always good and we are dearly loved. And we can live FULLY:)

