True Change

I just spent five days reading all three books of the Hunger Games and feel a little as if I have arisen out of a fictional fog. Let me add that I did, in fact, care for my family in that time, but I read far further into the night than was good for me, and found ways to be reading and doing chores at the same time. Not exactly a good life plan, but it was better than sitting in the bath tub until my toes hurt from the pruniness and my tailbone ached, like I did back in my childless days.

I can honestly say I haven’t been this captured by a book since the Harry Potter series ended. With the entire Hunger Games trilogy being slightly fewer pages than a single Potter novel, it’s an easier read for a mother of small children, but my final conclusion, at the end of the trilogy, is disappointment.

Not with the writing. Oh my word, I would give a limb for that kind of talent! The stories were well written, the characters well drawn, the chronology internally consistent and the plots believable – within the established reality of the novels. I loved the way she used the present tense to create the ongoing sense of urgency that drove me to keep reading. I LOVED Peeta from the beginning and he is the only character I truly loved all the way through the entire trilogy. I really enjoyed the books

But when the last word was read I was disappointed because you can’t write a story of redemption without knowing the Redeemer. You can’t write a story of hope unless you know the One who gives hope. I felt like she got as close to a happy ending as she could but in the end all I could think was, “Grace changes everything, and this story need the gospel of grace.”

So. What are your thoughts?

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

6 responses to “True Change

  • melissa

    I think…I just hit “buy now” on my Kobo account and now need enough self-control not to start reading until tomorrow!

  • Mitch

    I agree. I loved the books. I was hooked from the very beginning by Katniss’ willingness to lay down her life for her sister. The characters were compelling, the story well-written and easy to follow. The depravity was tangible and the gaping black hole was that there was no evidence of a greater hope. I left the series thankful that we do not have a world without the restraining mercy and common grace that we often take for granted.

  • Carole Bristow

    tell me more about these books,,got time to read right now

  • Justin Kirksey

    Warning, my response is full of “spoilers”
    My take from the series is that the overall story contained great potential to deliver a powerful message about morality and depravity, yet failed because it lacked the proper worldview.
    The first such failure is in the moral human nature of the characters. President Snow and the capital citizens are seen as being depraved. The citizens of the districts are mostly good, with their flaws and failures explained by the plight of their situation. Quite honestly Peeta is portrayed as being innately good, without a single instance of choosing evil or wrong with his own free will. The citizens of district 13 with their president Coin are the most confusing, seeming to be willing to fight for good but deep down only making the sacrifice to seize power for themselves.
    The second failure is the lack of a transcendent good or moral code to appeal to. While the book is not anti-theistic it is certainly atheistic (God is never mentioned.) It is clear that the author would have us to believe or assume that the concept of the hunger games is objectively wrong. However, without a transcendent law or Lawgiver to make this declaration, how would we know the games are evil. From a pragmatic or utilitarian point of view, would not the death of 23 children per year be preferable to the amount of carnage witnessed in book 3’s revolution? Katniss even makes this point to Gale when he tries to justify a delayed bomb that prays upon the sympathy of the capital soldiers.
    The hunger games trilogy is a well written fiction that held my attention easily and refused to let me put it down. Also, I am encouraged by the wonderful positive ending, which is always welcomed in a culture that seems to celebrate depression and destruction. The book raises significant questions about human nature, freedom and justice, yet fails to give any significant answer. Fortunately there is another book that speaks to those issues, the all time bestseller, and I’m glad it sold in the non fiction section 🙂

  • thebluehutch

    Funny, all the conversations we hae had and I am just now reading this post. I agree with everything you wrote, of course. Me, lover of all things underdog, also had a soft spot for Haymitch, but I only “loved” Peeta all the way Hough (as you said).

