A Change is as Good As a Rest

At least, that’s what my grandmother used to say. Sometimes, when a baby hasn’t slept in days and I’m running on caffeine and adrenaline, what I really need is rest; but other days, like yesterday, a change is really as good as a rest. What I needed yesterday was to complete a task that would still be completed next week. I needed to do something creative. I needed to do something different from the daily routine. And I needed to do it with supplies contained within my house. So when I came across a full can of brown spray paint I had forgotten I owned, I knew what was going to be as good as a rest.

Ugly brass lamp that has been hiding in my basement for 2 years. . .

plus a can of espresso one coat spray paint

I didn’t realize until halfway through the job that the mackerdoodle was circling me snapping pictures. Believe it or not, this was one of the most flattering angles she managed to capture.

equals an end table for this side of the couch.

Yes, it needs another shade, but like I said, I was working with what I had in my house at the time. All I need was something different, to use different parts of my brain, and this was it. It was something different, and it was as good as a rest.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

One response to “A Change is as Good As a Rest

  • melissa

    I like it! Hey, I’ve got a shade that may fit it that I am not currenty using. You can have it, if you want it. It is an 11″ diameter barrel shade with 10 1/2″ from the thing that goes over the bulb to the bottom of the shade. If you want it, let me know and I’ll cover it to your specs.

