But Can the Old Dog Still Remember the Old Tricks?

Want a say in what’s covered in the “Fight the Mommy Guilt” series? Go on over to the LifeMoreAbundant facebook page and write in your topics or vote for the ones already there.

I had a job interview today. I haven’t had many of them in my life time. I’ve actually landed most of my jobs accidentally. For instance, I offered to help a friend out by substitute teaching an English class for the last six weeks of a semester and ended up teaching English for four years. And that’s not a solitary occurrence in my life.

Anyway, I had a job interview today and it’s been a while so I was a little nervous. I arrived sweating like a farm animal, with a little bit of the snickerdoodle’s lunch on my shirt and my skirt unzipped. Fortunately the blast furnace that blew against my hip as I stepped out of the van alerted me to the last item, which I quickly repaired, but there was nothing for the other two but to own them and move on.

The last time I had a proper job interview was in my early twenties, and when I sat down in that conference room, I realized that I’m not twenty anymore.

Because my hip hurt.

Just kidding.

Sort of.

Sitting there, across from two peers, instead of people I thought of “as, like, as old as my parents,” and answering their questions based on my life experience, instead of how I really think the world should run if someone would just let me do things the right way, I understood how far I’ve come in my adulthood. I realized that I haven’t had a job interview in a long time, but I’ve lived a lot of life and had a lot of jobs and if they hire me it will be because of that, not in spite of that. Being a youth pastor’s wife when all our college friends were in seminary and having babies and now being in seminary and having babies while our college friends are settled in ministry positions wasn’t a strange detour, it was life, the way God laid it out, and it all amounted to related experience in my discussion today.

It was a strangely affirming event for such an inauspicious beginning. Sort of the story of my life.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

7 responses to “But Can the Old Dog Still Remember the Old Tricks?

  • suzanne

    “…answering their questions based on my life experience, instead of how I really think the world should run if someone would just let me do things the right way, I understood how far I’ve come in my adulthood.”

    BWHAHAHAHA!!!! That made me laugh out loud because I can very much relate. And I think you’d do a fabulous job of being in charge 😉

    • Coralie

      Thanks. Apparently I’ve taken over being in charge of the neighborhood from you. Three people have called me the “new Suzanne.” Would you like to send me your cloak? 🙂

      • suzanne

        I am honored that anyone would compare us!! The only cloak I have is my invisibility cloak which I need so I can hide from the boys and get a few minutes of silence, so I think I’ll hang onto that for a couple of years 😉

  • Flyaway

    Just discovered you. I love your writing. You may not hear from me very often because I’m an introvert!

    • Coralie

      Welcome! Thank you for your kind words. I hope you stop in often, whether you comment or not, you’re always welcome to sit a spell.

  • Melanie

    “I arrived sweating like a farm animal, with a little bit of the snickerdoodle’s lunch on my shirt and my skirt unzipped. Fortunately the blast furnace that blew against my hip as I stepped out of the van alerted me to the last item, which I quickly repaired, but there was nothing for the other two but to own them and move on.”
    Oh my lanta – I may have just peed a little. Thank you for the giggle spell! Great writing! Thanks for sharing!

  • Questioning Providence « Life More Abundant

    […] that job interview? Well it turned out pretty well, and now I have two jobs and a set of keys and an official work […]

