A Bat, a Car and a Lesson in Godly Humility

Back in 2009 when we were waiting to come to seminary and Saint Louis was this big fuzzy “unknown” in our future, I had a bat in my house. My Georgia pastor, Mitch, came over and with the help of two more friends from our church, managed to completely “de-batify” my home. As he was in the process of doing so, he quipped, “I bet your mega-church pastor in Saint Louis won’t come to your house to save you from a bat.”

He was technically correct, although having never had another close encounter of a bat kind, I haven’t really had the opportunity to give anyone a chance. I can tell you, however, that my car isn’t starting and right now my daughter is coloring and I’m blogging while my big church Saint Louis pastor is driving to his home, in the rain, to get jumper cables to help me start my car.

One of these men preaches to tens of people every Sunday, and one preaches to hundreds, but they are both faithful servants of God.

So, Mitch, and Mark, thank you. Thank you for serving faithfully from the pulpit, rightly dividing the word of truth, and thank you for serving faithfully in the nitty gritty of my life. I am proud to be able to embarrass you both in this way.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

Comments are disabled.

