Amazed at Providence

At the end of last week we were made an offer that it would have been foolish to refuse. All of the reasons to homeschool our mackerdoodle were overcome in one big offer and as of August 14, she will be entering the first grade at our church’s school. This was no light undertaking, and I found myself once more embarrassed at our need which would lead to an offer like this, rather than awed at the Great I Am who provides for us in amazing ways – often through the gifts of his people.

For three years we have lived below the poverty line as we have sailed the turbulent seas of seminary. I am aware that “Poverty” in North America is abundance anywhere else, but that aside we have still lived in far more abundance than our tax returns would indicate. On Saturday I sifted through four Rubbermaid boxes of hand-me-downs for my snickerdoodle, completely nullifying the proverb that beggars can’t be choosers as I decided what we would keep and move, and what could be passed on to someone else. Last semester we had a long term loan of a car and this semester another family has given us a similar offer and every month several dear friends support us financially. We have been fed and clothed and cared for by the body of Christ at every turn.

So I can be embarrassed at our our need, or I can announce to you God’s provision:

But may all who seek you
rejoice and be glad in you;
may those who love your salvation
say continually, “Great is the Lord!”
As for me, I am poor and needy,
but the Lord takes thought for me.
You are my help and my deliverer;
do not delay, O my God! Psalm 40:16-17

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

Comments are disabled.

