Coralie- Proof Whole Wheat Potato Rolls

Saturday I tweeted: “Made some moderately tasty crackers for dinner tonight. Unfortunately I thought I was making hamburger buns. :-/”

So today, when my rolls had actually risen, I had to tweet a picture, to prove to the internet that I am not always hopeless in the kitchen. There is a great deal wrong with that sentence. Anyway, irony of ironies, three people asked me for the recipe. So here it is.

e6c5e71f-11e4-47be-9bff-6b0cd18fb9bbApparently Coralie-proof Whole Wheat Potato Rolls.

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium potatoes
  • 2.5 cups water
  • 5 teaspoons yeast
  • 1/2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1/2 cup of scalded milk
  • 3 Tablespoons of butter, oil or shortening
  • 5 teaspoons salt
  • 1/2 cup of ground flax seed
  • 3 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 – 3 cups all purpose flour
  1. Cook the potatoes in the water until very soft. Do not drain. Remove 1/2 cup of the potato water, dissolve the sugar and let cool to warm temperature. Add yeast to reserved potato water to proof. Add butter, salt and milk to the remaining potatoes and water. Puree (I use an immersible blender. The recipe recommended pouring it all into a blender.)
  2. Add two cups of whole wheat flour to the potato mixture and stir to a paste. Add proofed yeast and stir well.
  3. Add remaining flour a little at a time until a sticky dough develops.
  4. Turn out onto the counter and knead with remaining flour until the dough is no longer sticky and bounces back when pressed.
  5. Cover and let rise to double.
  6. Punch down, form into rolls on a cookie sheet. (I did four ounce rolls. That seemed to be a good size, once risen.) Cover and let rise to double again.
  7. Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.

So, there it is. For those who care.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

One response to “Coralie- Proof Whole Wheat Potato Rolls

