Book Review: Romans 1-7 For You by Timothy Keller

It has been awhile, but I am back in the reviewing game, and I get to start out with another winner from the Good Book company. I have had the pleasure of reviewing Galatians for You and Judges for You by the same author, so saying yes to Romans 1-7 For You, another in the series, was a no-brainer.

As I have noted in each of the reviews, these books are not commentaries for serious academic study, they are, however, all excellent bible studies, and this volume on Romans 1-7 is no exception. Keller excels at unambiguously presenting the gospel, and this format showcases him at his best. From the challenge of Romans 1:26-27  through the much debated Romans 7, Keller manages to present difficult truth clearly and gently without compromising the truth itself. Despite his reputation in some reformed circles, Keller does a very strong study of Romans 6 and the balance of law and grace. In fact, the study of that chapter is some of the most balanced language I have ever read on the subject, walking the razor thin line between legalism and antinomianism in a faithful and biblical way.

Both this study and the study on Galatians would be excellent for small group studies with new believers or one-on-one discipleship. Keller’s gentle and engaging style is the “honey” that makes the sometimes difficult truths in these books a little easier to swallow. The studies are firmly rooted in the actual words of the text, and I think most believers would find them to be very worthwhile.

Keller will wrap up Romans for the Goodbook company, and then other authors will explore other biblical books for the remainder of the series. I hope that the addition of different voices and perspectives will still retain the excellent quality that these first three volumes have exhibited.

I received no compensation for this post. I was provided a hard cover edition for the purpose of review. I was not required to provide a positive one. I keep a disclosure statement here.