Things We Learn When we Aren’t Trying

All winter I lived aware of the possibility of losing power. Every time a winter storm was predicted we went through the discussion of how much water we had, and wood for the stove, and meals that could be cooked on said wood stove. We had candles and an emergency flash light. I had spare blankets for the children’s beds.

In the irony of 2014 weather, it wasn’t a winter storm in which we lost power. It was Tropical Storm Arthur. Jonathan and I have lived through a number of hurricanes and tropical storms in our years in Georgia, but this year these places seemingly traded weather, and neither fared so well.

We lost power at 8:30 Saturday morning while cooking for a church breakfast. On Sunday morning I told the children, “this is just like camping, except we got to sleep in comfortable beds!” On Monday morning I muttered to Jonathan, “I’m so over this! I just want a shower.” And when I was woken at 4:30 Tuesday morning to the beautiful sound of our toilet tank filling with water and the blinking 12:00 on my alarm clock, I said, “thank you Lord!” with no sense of flippancy.

Over all, I am pretty pleased with how our little family fared. The children mentioned T.V. only once. We cooked and ate our own food. We had enough water to drink. We spent a lot of time outside working in the garden. (The pea trellises did not approve of Arthur’s Saturday rampage.) Jonathan and I read more and went to bed earlier. I even got to the point of asking a friend if I could borrow her laundry scrub board and hand crank wringer to do my own laundry by hand. (The Lord gave me back power before I had to do that, but I was, at least, willing to try.)

I was also so encouraged that in the midst of personal inconvenience, a good number of our church congregation still arrived at church for both services. Some of them (*coughflewellingwomencough*) looking just as put together as any other Sunday. Some of us looked a little worse for wear. Our worship, however, continued despite our circumstance; possibly even sweeter for it.

So we learned we are capable of enjoying life with less convenience, and we are renewed in our thankfulness that we don’t have to. We are grateful for things we often take for granted, and are grateful for the time and place in which we live and once more thankful for the church to which The Lord has called us.

All of that from a tropical storm in the North Atlantic.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

6 responses to “Things We Learn When we Aren’t Trying

  • Kate Waller

    You forgot the awesome cooking party, LOL!

    • Coralie

      There was only so much I could include. But you are right. That was awesome. Bot of my youngest asked me today, “when are we going to the Waller’s today?” As if this is a daily thing we do now. 🙂

  • Kathleen L. Waller

    They are awesome too! We’ll get together again after our camping trip.

  • bobbistowellbrown

    When we lived in California my kids loved it when the power went out. We read books by the fireplace and pretended we were Abraham Lincoln! Of course it was warm there–so no freezing to death. However, on Bill Clinton’s first inauguration day we were living in Seattle. My husband was in Tokyo and we had just brought my father-in-law home from the hospital after surgery. The electricity was out for a week. Finally after a week I decided to start driving until I found a motel and a restaurant with electricity. Then the power came back on just as my husband arrived back in town. I do give thanks every day for heat and lights!

  • Olivia

    What you didn’t see on Sunday…under long skirts there are stubbly legs. 🙂

