Entrepreneurship at the Table

Today at lunch the children were talking about opening business. The conversation went roughly as follows:

Cheesedoodle: (boy, 6) “I will open a waffle business, and I will buy waffles, store them in my freezer and eat them.”

Mackerdoodle (girl, 8) “I don’t think you understand how business works.”

They went on to discuss selling things for money and building businesses. To my delight, they all wanted to have businesses beside each other. The Cheesedoodle was insistent that he was going to be in the waffle business. He grasped that he would sell the items, not just eat them, but he would open “a waffle store,” in his words.

The Snickerdoodle who had been listening to this whole conversation, quietly, chimed in with “And I will have a chicken store next door.”

The Mackerdoodle answered, “and I will be in the alley between them selling chicken and waffles.”

Everyone laughed, but the Snickerdoodle wasn’t finished.

“I will sell chicken, and I will be open on Tuesday,” she announced.

“Only on Tuesday?” we asked.

“Yes. And my words on my restaurant will say, ‘gravy on every table’,” she finished, decisively.

Of all the business ideas discussed in my house, I think that one would have a chance.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

Comments are disabled.

